A Reader Says “Running away is good….”

28Jan13

I’m famous for running away.  From Michigan to Indiana to Texas and California.  Physically. Emotionally. From work. From partners. From my feelings.

A fabulous reader (and to be honest I do know him, but that doesn’t make him any less cool!) AndrewM left an interesting comment about the benefits of running away.  He states:

Sometimes people runaway when life gets much too complicated…my late wife’s aunt (a University of Pennsylvania psychiatrist) said that “she believed in running away from your problems. The ones that are really yours will still be yours in the new location”. That location isn’t always a physical place, sometimes its in your own mind!

Since Runnin’ is centered around this theme, I wanted to see what my other, dear readers, think.  AndrewM gave me some food for thought.  Right now, my bags are half-way packed!

10 Responses to “A Reader Says “Running away is good….””

  1. Yeah, running away is sometimes the easiest and most sensible option. If you CAN run away, do it!!

  2. 2 timmoore53@comcast.net

    “Wherever you go, there you are!”

  3. I think it all depends on what you’re running from. I run from a lot, just as long as I know I can get away. If that makes any sense. Sometimes, I know I just need to face what’s wrong.

  4. Well isn’t that what vacation is, in a way? We call it “getting away” but I run THE FUCK away from my job as often as I can! I know, too much reverse gratitude for my job is gonna bite my ass but it’s where I’m at right now.

    Sometimes we don’t get the clarity we need on situations that are killing us until we do in fact run away. Hey, we can usually run back if we want.

  5. Oh, and have I told you lately that I FUCKIN’ LOVE YOUR BLOG?!

  6. I thought of something else as I was editing a post I was putting out, Here is a video for you I thought you may enjoy. Its also in my post about a JERK and getting away.

  7. I found this quote today and thought of you:

    “If a man comes to the door of poetry untouched by the madness of the Muses, believing that technique alone will make him a good poet, he and his sane compositions never reach perfection, but are utterly eclipsed by the performances of the inspired madman.” ― Socrates

    I’m not trying to say that I think you’re mad, but you’ve been through the fire and come out the other side wiser and more inspired 🙂 You have turned your tragedy into genius 🙂


Leave a Reply

