Spider Legs and Glass Shards (3)

02Mar13

Firework2She tells him about the garden. “Only one poppy made it, but the George Vancouver rose is doing well. I moved the burgundy clematis by the gate where it gets more sun.” She tells him this softly, sliding each syllable, trying to make each word extend forever. She feels like she’s having phone sex as she retells every single step, every new hole dug, every single variegated leaf and blossom accounted for. Tears slip down his cheeks as he watches her lips move.

Before they met, she never knew a glass eye could cry. But now she’s used to the tears pooling, streaming down from his real eye, spilling out from his fake eye. When she watches him cry she likes to pretend his tears are shards of glass.

The traffic lights keeps flipping, flashing colors that are almost too dull to see in the late afternoon light. They stand on the corner as bicyclists and couples with squirmy and sleepy children move around them. Everyone is heading down to the river with blankets and water bottles. They’re waiting for dusk, for popping fireworks to spill on the city sky, to watch the skinny spider legs of fire fall. She wants to avoid the crowds of people breathing one each others bug spray, the over-tired kids jacked up on cotton candy, the man who used to be her partner that is moments away from becoming a bum pushing a shopping cart full of rags and bird seed.

“I’m sick of being a retard. They won’t even let me near the stove. Everything they feed us comes in a fucking bucket. They shove all of these bratwursts, burnt hamburgers and Tuna Helper crap in gallon buckets and serve them to us. Buckets of fucking meat!” He laughs. “But really, I cannot sing in that house.”

She turns to walk away. She doesn’t have the heart to tell him that he never sang in the first place.

3 Responses to “Spider Legs and Glass Shards (3)”

  1. 1 BehindMyBooks

    I definitely prefer how your pieces sound in first person more, which is odd, because I generally hate things written in first person. But I do love these pieces, they almost make me feel like I’m looking at a photograph and can understand the whole moment surrounding it. I don’t know if that makes sense, but the point is, I like these pieces. They are very interesting and very different.

    • Yea, these earlier third person pieces I used as a way of distancing myself as the narrator. I agree, I prefer the “voice” I have in first person better. It’s a more natural fit. Thanks for commenting! I love your feedback, always.

      • I like how this is developing. I’m intrigued. I like your 1st person approach myself. I’m trying the same thing. I’m having trouble getting used to it though.


Leave a Reply

