The Next Big Thing Blog Hop (Part 2) – Interview!

08Mar13

THE NEXT BIG THING BLOG HOP

Welcome to the blog hop!

What is a blog hop? Basically, it’s a way that readers can discover new authors, because with bookstores closing and publishers not promoting new authors as much, we need to find a way to introduce readers to authors they may not see in their local bookstore.

Here you have the chance to find many new authors. You’ll find information about my memoir What’s Broken, What’s Breaking Down. But that’s not all! Also see links below to other authors you might like to check out.

I’d like to thank fellow author Tof Eklund for tagging me to participate. Here are links to Tof’s blog, and the sites for Autumn Harvest and The Unconventional.

http://www.tofeklund.net/

https://bigworldnetwork.com/site/series/autumnharvest/

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Autumn-Harvest/2232791078005180

http://www.spectaclepmg.com/books/uncon/

In this particular hop, I and my fellow authors, in their respective blogs, have answered 10 questions where you get to learn about our current work in progress as well as some insights into our process, from characters and inspirations to plotting and cover decisions. I hope you enjoy it!

Please feel free to comment and share your thoughts and questions. Here is my Next Big Thing:

1: What is the working title of your book?

What’s Broken, What’s Breaking Down

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

My life and struggles, successes with mental health and the issues they bring.

3: What genre does your book come under?

Memoir / Creative Nonfiction

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

My story spans several years, so there are many characters. I’ll list a few.  As I was thinking about what actors I’d choose, I realized that many of them play comedic roles.  While this memoir has many intense, serious situations and themes, it is infused with dark humor.  Also, these choices were mainly based upon physical characteristics and traits

Me: Drew Barrymore (with red hair of-course)

Ex-husband#1: Adam Sandler

Dead Boyfriend: Ewan McGregor

Current Beau: Lyle Lovett

Mother: Kathy Bates

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

An emotional roller coaster ride!

6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

I’m currently sending out queries for representation.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’ve been writing and collecting the pieces for ten years.  Though, the past year I have compiled, revised, and generated new material to make it seamless.  I have spent about 20 hours a week for the last year obsessively polishing it.

8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Mary Karr’s “Lit” is similar in tone and bad-ass attitude.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Besides being bitten by the writing bug, I felt my story, the story of mental health issues and struggles, was largely underrepresented in memoir.  While there have been several Bipolar memoirs, most of them dealt with people who were famous, well-off, or had a ton of support.  When you are poor and lack support, the journey towards getting back on track and acceptance is quite different.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

In addition to drama, my story offers humor and a fresh, honest voice.  I have spent several years honing my craft, experimenting with structure and form to find the best way to let my story unfold.  I use a combination of raw and lyrical language as well as traditional narratives and experimental forms.  However, it was important for me to make the book accessible for any reader to enjoy and connect with.

Below you will find four cool authors who will be joining me by blog, next Thursday, who have awesome finished books or works in progress.  Do be sure to bookmark and add them to your calendars for updates and exciting developments.

Happy Writing and Reading!

http://terahvandusen.wordpress.com/

http://laurenjbarnhart.wordpress.com/

http://lwpatricks.wordpress.com/

http://allisonbruning.blogspot.com/

3 Responses to “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop (Part 2) – Interview!”

  1. Congrats on being at the ‘polishing’ stage of your memoir! It sounds like your getting close to publication! I am not there yet. In fact for this interview I promoted a collection of poetry I have available on Amazon. NEXT time I’ll talk about my memoir 🙂

  2. Ooh ooh, and I love LIT.

  3. I know, LIT rocks. I am very impressed and inspired by her style, edginess, and voice.


Leave a Reply

