El Paso Passing (7) – The Peanut Butter and Jelly Man

08Apr13

He turns his head to give me a toothless grin and nods. “Yeah,” he says, “just like that.”

I don’t like the way he’s eyeing me up and down.  I nervously ask, “What’s it like to be on the road so much? I mean, it might get kinda lonesome.”

“Yup, that’s why I let pretty girls like you ride along, keeps things mighty interesting, doesn’t it? Now, spread those legs open and give me a peek,” he says.

I try to laugh like he’s telling me some sort of dirty joke, but I know he isn’t joking. I start laughing for real, remembering the story of the Peanut Butter and Jelly Man.  My dad used to say that if I ever ran away, I would sit on the street corner so hungry that I would do anything for some food.  Then this car would pull over and a man would say, “Hey little girl.  I got some peanut butter and jelly, would you like to come eat it?” And I’d be so hungry that I’d get in his boring car and do whatever he wanted because he fed me. My dad was a jackass, but he was right, though.

Mr. Trucker says, “You shave your pussy?” I can’t breathe.  This is the moment where I should play it cool, but I feel transparent and thin, and I’m certain he can smell fear on the surface of my skin.  He wants me to reach over and play with his dick.  He places of his nicotine stained hands on his crotch and the other on the steering wheel.  He is sniffling, his nose running with cocaine.  He’s all impatient again and growling.  I want to go home and click my heels like Dorothy.  I cannot laugh or change the subject and the cocaine is no longer making the music sound peppy.  My mouth tastes like metal, and all I can say is, “please, please stop.”

Mr. Trucker is getting all twitchy and freaky and starts to scream, “I knew you was a little teasing bitch! If ya don’t play, have fun in El Paso!” He points out towards a hazy, lonesome skyline.

One Response to “El Paso Passing (7) – The Peanut Butter and Jelly Man”

  1. Riveting. Gut-wrenching. And brutally beautifully written. As always 😉


Leave a Reply

